CopShock: Second Edition
Surviving Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

by Allen R. Kates, MFAW, BCECR


Table of Contents


Preface to Second Edition

Chapter 1: Assaults
"I asked God, 'Please take my life.'"

Chapter 2: What Is CopShock ?
"I faked an attack of Posttraumatic Stress Disorder."

Chapter 3: 9/11
"I thought I was the only one left. '"

Chapter 4: 9/11, Months or Years Later
"I can't eat, I can't sleep, I can't think, I feel sick. I can't do this anymore.'"

Chapter 5: Drugs
"The psychos like to work midnights.'"

Chapter 6: Shootings
"Take the mutt down. Drop him.'"

Chapter 7: Family
"I tried to keep my pain in to allow him to get his stuff out."

Chapter 8: Soldiers
"I knew that if I drank enough, I would not hear the sound of rotor blades."

Chapter 9: Flashbacks
"The smell of blood was sweet and smothering."

Chapter 10: Not Shooting
"I asked God, 'Please take my life.'"

Chapter 11: Bomb Squad
"It blew him back and blew me over and we were on fire '"

Chapter 12: Police Dispatchers
"I've been waiting to hear somebody die, and this is it."

Chapter 13: What To Do About CopShock
"A normal reaction to an abnormal amount of stress"

Chapter 14: Resiliency
"The ability to bounce back from adversity can be learned."

Chapter 15: Support Sources A to M

Chapter 16: Support Sources N to Z

Appendix 1. Resiliency Self-Test
Appendix 2. Anxiety Self-Test
Appendix 3. Stress Self-Test
Appendix 4. Panic Disorder Self-Test
Appendix 5. PTSD Self-Test
Appendix 6. Depression Self-Test
Appendix 7. Please Listen (handout for loved ones)

Subject Index
Support Sources Index
About W. H. Martin
About Allen R. Kates

To read Chapter Excerpts

Click Here

$24.95   Only $14.97 each

(+$3 USA shipping for 1 or 2 books!)
Click here to order

To top of page

Copyright © 2008, 2017 by Allen R. Kates